Channel Islands

Start early

In bands, electro, havienda, indie, jersey, music on July 15, 2008 at 10:39 am

So I went over a few ideas with Martin yesterday. He raised an interesting point I had overlooked – the question of how to get people into the club early. There is a kind of trend among workers in the town centre to leave the office on Friday and just stay out, drifting from bars to clubs. I know, I used to do it when I was a bank official. Ah, those were the grim days!

What we agreed was that our Friday nights should start early and so we’ll be promoting this from seven until two. I must admit, at first suggestion of this, I just remembered the shows I used to put on with Gary when absolutely nothing would happen until about ten, and thought wow! That’s seven hours to fill up. But he’s managed to convince me it’s the right thing to do.

So there’ll be a competition with serious prizes, and other promotions. I’ll say more about those nearer the time.

I’ve got to design posters soon. The promotional material was going to feature some variations on a stick monster thing I’ve been working on. To my surprise, I must admit, Martin liked it and understood my point about producing a graphic identity that is opposed to the overly airbrushed look most promoters here tend to use. But I’ve since revised the design and the simple banner adorning the top of this blog is the label I’ll use for posters and flyers.

I’ve also had this idea to process photos of the bands so that they appear something like Roy Lichtenstein works. That is to say in the style of magnified comic book art.

Okay, gotta go.

Leave a Reply

